THE ITCH BENEATH

Today I played hide and seek with myself in the mirror
And discovered how lovely my eyes look,
The way  they  opened
Each time my concealing hand let then shine

A halo-eing loneliness is zooming in on me.
I lie in bed watching my areola shrink into folds
And my breast fizz with goosebumps
From the cold chill that grips me
As I brush my own fingers lightly against my skin.
All over my body, scratches and scars
I tear my flesh helplessly with my finger nails
For an itch is hard to ignore
Much like this loneliness.

I am grieving but tears won’t roll
I want to remember the intimacy
But my urge is gone
I miss him but I don’t want to meet him
I want to admit it is over
But I  pretend we are still together,
Playing hide and seek with each other.

2 thoughts on “THE ITCH BENEATH

  1. I love this poem Daph. I like the way in which you approach the subject of loneliness and your awareness of it by observing your body and its reflex reactions towards your inner feeling.

    “I lie in bed watching my areola shrink into folds” This is so apt in reflecting the recoiling of the soul that takes place when a negative emotion takes place. It is an observation that is so accurate.

    I love the contrast in the reaction to the feelings of loneliness in the second stanza; first an attempt at self comfort through caressing, ” As I brush my own fingers lightly against my skin.” then the attempt at self destruction, “I tear my flesh helplessly with my finger nails” when you fail at self consolation.

    I love the vulnerability in the poem and how well you present your conflict in the imagery. It is a lovely, lovely poem that leaves the lonely assured that someone else has been there.

    1. Ann Linda , thank you for the wonderful analysis. You make the poem even more amazing by clothing it with your understanding. Yes, lonely souls, this one is for us. Glad it found a place in your brain n heart.

Leave a Reply

