EMBRACES AT BEDTIME: A dose of literature to get you through Monday

 

EMBRACES AT BEDTIME

On nights she asks me to tuck her in

I lay in bed with her

Wishing sweet dreams for Kijon.

 

Like prey in hiding, besides her I stiffen

Yet an embrace with my arms would warm and lull her

On nights she asks me to tuck her in.

 

Embraces at bedtime are memories of aversion

I am afraid and I never touch her

Wishing sweet dreams for Kijon.

 

I remember embraces with darkness sealed within

Vile touches that make innocence whither

On nights she asks me to tuck her in.

 

I wait to escape when sleep does her in

For this darkness, I cannot transfer

Wishing sweet dreams for Kijon.

 

I sing lullabies in a hushed tone

“Hush, hush my little one”, I whisper

On nights she asks me to tuck her in

Wishing sweet dreams for Kijon.

PHOTO CREDIT
Painting by Felipe Rude http://srmagonline.com/2017/04/03/artist-felipe-rudes-love-affair-with-black-faces/#more-14628
https://www.facebook.com/rudearte/
2 thoughts on “EMBRACES AT BEDTIME: A dose of literature to get you through Monday

  1. “Yet an embrace with my arms would warm and lull her” something i always looked forward to as a girl growing up, my mothers warm embrace
    Each night i would stay up till she would show up

    1. Awwww. Nothing like a mother’s good night embrace. Sadly for Kijon, her mother cannot bring herself to embrace her because of the dark past.
      Thanks for reading Juliet Grace.

Leave a Reply

