PINK NICETIES: A dose of poetry to get you through Monday

PINK NICETIES

In corners

Of places of convenience

Glass containers

Are stacked with pink niceties

Glistening,

Under yellow rays

Of electric bulbs.

 

A little index points at the pink niceties

“Mommy? What are those?”

 

A deep breath and a sigh

Is all  I can mouth.

She washes her pink palms

At the white sink

And I wish that my pink tongue

Was not glued behind my white teeth.

 

Condoms.

The pink wraps are condoms.

I am relieved my answer was satisfactory

When she walks out ahead of me,

Pink shoes flashing lights

With each foot step.

 

“Mommy? What are condoms used for?”

A flashed face and sweaty palms

Meet as I tag at my fore brains

For a satisfactory answer.

 

Do you know what sex is?

“Yes”

I am terrified her answer was satisfactory.

When you have sex

You use the condom

To prevent diseases like AIDs.

Leave a Reply

