QUOTATIONS THAT KEEP MY CREATIVE ENERGY BUBBLING

  1. Anais Nin (Erotica Author of Delta of Venus)

“Sex loses its power and magic when it becomes explicit, mechanical, overdone, when it becomes a mechanistic obsession. It becomes a bore. I know how wrong it is not to mix it with emotion, hunger, desire, lust, whims, caprices, personal ties, deeper relationships that change its color, flavor, rhythms, intensities.”

This quote is a mantra I need to chant to rekindle my Erotic-Poetry-Fire.

  1. Arundhati Roy (Author of The God of Small Things and  The Ministry of Utmost Happiness)

“Literature is about art and craft and not just about your feelings and your coming out of yourself.”

A writer is an Artist. Just like the painter, the dancer, the actor, writers too are artist. While your writing may be based on feelings, it should be expressed artistically.

  1. Arundhati Roy

“Writing must be an act of generosity, not an act of self-indulgence or therapy.”

Of course writing can be self-indulgent and therapeutic but I have discovered that fiction cannot always be about you.  You must give distinct voices to the characters you create, you must forget about YOU and give up yourself to be a conduit of creations that touch other lives besides your own.

  1. Langston Hughes (The Negro Artist and the Racial Mountain)

“An Artist must be free to choose what he/she does, certainly, but he must also never be afraid to do what he must choose.”

There are times when I MUST choose what to write about. I may be compelled by a patriotic sense to attempt writing authentic Ugandan literature even when it may seem easier to create characters with blue eyes and blond hair or to write poetry about the Greek Gods and America.

  1. Nikki Giovanni (Author of Cotton Candy on a Rainy Day)

“A Poet writes not from experience but from empathy… because we cannot experience everything.”

And of course my absolute consolation on a week like this one, where I failed to post a weekly dose of literature for my Blog Followers, my consolation is this quote from an all time favourite author Arundhati Roy.

6. “I’m not an institution; I am a person – disorganized, inefficient…”

I am apologizing for not posting on Monday as I have always done since January 2017. Some readers have shared that they are excited to find their weekly dose of literature every Monday yet I disappointed you yesterday. My writing batteries were running low but they are now on re-charge and the weekly Monday posts will resume next week.

Leave a Reply

